Welcome To Department Of Geography

Situated on the lusty green campus of Golapbag, the Department of Geography was established in 1969 with the late Prof. Satyesh Chakraborty, a very distinguished Indian geographer, as its founder Head. The Department has achieved the prestigious SAP-DRS Programme of the University Grants Commission and FIST Programme of the Department of Science & Technology, Government of India. The Department offers M. A. /M. Sc., M. Phil and Ph. D. programmes. The major thrust areas of the Department are Geomorphology (Theoretical & Applied), Soil and Land Use, Environmental and Urban Issues, Regional Development, Remote Sensing & GIS, etc. Presently the Department has a faculty strength of 12 (2 Professors, 4 Associate Professors, 3 Assistant Professors (3 posts are lying vacant) and 1 Scientific Officer

Our Vice-Chancellor
Prof. Smritikumar Sarkar

N C Jana

Our Head & Associate Professor

Dr. Narayan Chandra Jana

Associate Professor & Head, Department of Geography. The University of Burdwan, Burdwan-713104, West Bengal